Home Page

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Nursery and Reception classes follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. This curriculum begins at birth and continues until the end of your child’s Reception year, when they are assessed against 17 Early Learning Goals (ELGs). They are split into the following areas:


Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Making Relationship; Self Confidence and Self Awareness; Managing Feeling and Behaviour



  • Communication and Language

Listening and Attention; Understanding; Speaking



  • Physical Development

Moving and Handling; Health and Self Care




Specific Area

  • Literacy

Reading; Writing








  • Maths

Number; Shape, Space and Measure








  • Understanding the World

People and Communities; The World; Technology








  • Expressive Arts and Design

Being Imaginative; Exploring and Using Media and Materials




Our curriculum is based on play and developing independence. We provide a wide and balanced range of activities to promote learning. Sometimes these are led by an adult and other times led by the child; with them selecting the things they need. We plan around the children’s interests and learning needs. The Nursery and Reception classes share a spacious, purpose built outdoor area; we understand the importance of outdoor learning and the benefits it has on our pupils every day. We also share children’s learning through an online Learning Journey called Tapestry, and welcome regular contributions by parents and carers. 

To find out more about this key stage, click the link below to go to our policies page where there is the Early Years Foundation Stage policy.